noodling on the petty and the preposterous

end of a week

nearly ten years into my profession and I still cringe to use the word career to define it. I chose what I do for a living, but the word feels too premeditated and sucks the romance out of it. I want a desire for work, an infatuation, a way to speed time up.

I say this because the harmless arrival of Friday creeps up on me. There's a cultural expectation about weekends that's not only explicit but also somewhat mandated. I’m almost anxious thinking about having to justify my weekend for Monday small talk at work. I'm not a workaholic by any measure, but I do prefer to balance the scales by lending some life into work and work ethic into life without the hard edges of an ‘all mighty weekend'.

I think if we allowed the increasingly fluid boundaries of work and life to settle, we might find it’s not a weekend we look forward to, but the validation of serving a purpose-full week? (longer rant on the evolving nature of work)

or maybe it’s simply respite we seek from a holiday. Work takes energy. Understanding where we gain and lose our energies could potentially take away the dread of Monday blues, but that's an internal dialogue each of us owe ourselves.

Personally, if I define any part of myself by what I do for a living, it’s simply more fulfilling to think of my time (and thus, life) as something I’m not regularly looking forward to escape from.