noodling on the petty and the preposterous

ai doing and human being

I've been pondering why my workplace hasn't replaced me with AI already, as I'm sure many knowledge workers have been this past year or two. it's been helpful to steer away from the scarcity mindset of 'what can I do that this current model cannot', and understand the malleable nature of value itself.

We know that most job titles today didn't exist fifty years ago, and the invaluable things we bring as people are (1) a tumultuous and shared human experience, and (2) relationships! Ten years into being an employed person, I'm realising that it maybe more important to be likeable than to be good at my job. Which is to say that hard skills might get you the job, but soft skills is one way to keep it.

we maybe disposable in our role, but it would be a pretty lonely workplace without the colleagues you love to hate. way before the giant leaps in AI took place, the Office was an apt representation of the largely redundant nature of work. Debunking meritocratic myths about work makes it easier to befriend said anthropomorphised machines and collaborate.

it's becoming glaringly obvious that what the emergent, creative and 'artificial' intelligence is forcing me to do is learn more about myself. Much better articulation of that idea by Gustav Söderström in this video. It's making me ask the hard questions, understand what I love and fear, and freeing up the time to become the metaphorical poets we were all destined to be.